Skip navigation

There seems to be a growing under current of opinion that is seriously starting question the current direction of Business Continuity (BC). It is best summarised by three issues that have been identified by David Lindstedt: it isn’t evolving; executives aren’t engaged; and there aren’t any meaningful metrics. To these I would add a fourth issue, and this is that the profession seems to have backed itself into a standards corner.

By pure coincidence I’ve just come across a new way forward for BC whilst undertaking research for a paper that I’ll be presenting at this year’s BCI World Conference and Exhibition in London in November. The title of my paper is “The BC Plan is Dead!”, and whilst looking for a practical example of the ideas that I’ll be presenting, I came across a novel and exciting approach to BC that has been implemented by a major UK company. I don’t want to spoil the presentation, so I can’t reveal yet who it is and what I’ll be saying, but a representative from that company will, as part of my presentation, show a new approach that is measurable, adds value to the business, has the active support of the Top Executive, extends the traditional boundaries of BC to include all disruptive incidents, and puts BC in front of the Top Executive on a regular basis.

On the assumption that this new approach “holds water”  when publicly presented, I intend to explain and document it after the Conference. I have to admit that it’s not an approach that I’ve developed, I just stumbled across it. However, I’m so impressed by what I’ve seen that I believe that it needs to be properly put in front of Business Continuity professionals.

Leave a Reply

